John Glassco


For this collection John Glassco won the Governor General’s Award in 1971. He intended it as a definitive selection of his best poetry which includes his frequently anthologized poems such as "The Death of Don Quixote", "Brummell at Calais", "Needham Cemetery" and "Quebec Farmhouse".

Glassco’s original selection is presented here in its entirety with additional material and excerpts drawn from his later published work and his translations, together with three short prose pieces dealing with the poetic process, poetry readings and the art of translation.

A craftsman of unusual care, Glassco was known for his sensitivity and wit as well as for his forthright treatment of love, the nostalgia occasioned by the passage of time and the loss of that which we cherish.


"Presented in chronological order, the poems show a movement from the rough, insistent voice of a wandering youth to the more reflective discourse of an older man who describes events that happen around him with regret, concern, and delight. This is an enjoyable collection of short poems."

Canadian Book Review Annual

About the Author

John Glassco

Posted by Kendra on December 6, 2014

John Glassco

John Glassco came from an established Montréal family, and lived the better part of his life near the village of Foster in the Eastern Townships of Québec. He was a distinguished poet, novelist, essayist and translator - the Glassco prize for translation was named after him.